Soulmates

It’s pretty hard to change the way someone thinks. We’re socialized to think and act in certain ways and it’s really difficult to change those as we get older.

But sometimes you meet someone who makes you think differently.

I met someone like that last year, in September. She’s smart, funny, beautiful, warm, proud.

I remember being blown away at the beginning, and somehow, 10 months later, I’m still blown away.

Today we went to see a movie about marriage in Egypt. I know, for a fact, that most people would have left that movie thinking Egyptians are backwards/weird/crazy/etc. At some point during the movie, I wondered what she was thinking about Egypt and Egyptians. We left the movie and sat down, and she was obviously pissed off.

We had a conversation about the movie that really made me think, but also made me love her even more. Nothing about “Egyptians,” “Egyptian culture,” and all of that. Just questions and comments that were completely judgement-free.

How amazing is that?

So incase you don’t know how great you are and how much you mean to me, Miheret, just thought I would make it public 🙂 You’re one of the most amazing people I’ve ever met, and I’m so glad we’re friends (or bffs, as some would say :P).

3 thoughts on “Soulmates

  1. miheret

    and you are trying to give me a heart attack:)
    its one thing to impress your friends but its something else to impress someone like you……and when I said you I mean the most intelligent and amazing person I know and more and more but I can not even put that here because it is going to look like a pay back:) but remember what I told you in Porto…that is what I think of you……..and people are happy to have amazing friends …but with you I feel privileged! you are that sweet energy we all look for and found in few places!

Leave a Reply

